New names chosen for two ­Sherbrooke boroughs

Record staff
Staff Writer

The borough councils of Sherbrooke Boroughs 1 and 4 held special meetings last week, during which they formally requested to change their borough names. The new names requested are the Borough of Brompton-Rock Forest-Saint-Élie-Deauville for Borough No. 1 and Des Nations for Borough No. 4, which occupies the territory of the former boroughs of Jacques Cartier and Mont-Bellevue. These recommendations will be submitted to City Council at its May 22 meeting at which time council will have to adopt a by-law assigning a name to each borough of the City during its regular meeting of June 4. See full story in the Wednesday, May 16th edition of The Record.