Brome-Missisquoi candidate profiles

By Matthew McCully

The Brome-Missisquoi riding has somewhat of a colourful past at the federal level in recent years. Outgoing Liberal MP Denis Paradis won the 2015 election with 43.9 per cent of the vote. In 2011, however, the riding was won by Pierre Jacob, representing the NDP. In the 2006 and 2008 elections, Brome-Missisquoi went to Bloc candidate Christian Ouellet. The 2004 election was won by Paradis for the Liberals. Paradis is not running for re-election.
There are eight candidates looking to represent the Brome-Missisquoi riding in Ottawa:
Allard, Monique (Bloc Québécois)
Bessette, Lyne (Liberal)
Cloutier, Steeve (Parti Rhinocéros Party)
Côté, Bruno (Conservative)
Cotton, Lawrence (VCP-Veterans Coalition Party)
Dallaire, Normand (Green Party)
Jetté, Sylvie (NDP-New Democratic Party)
Poulin, François (People’s Party)

The Record got in touch with some of the candidates running in the election to hear what they feel are the most important issues in the riding.

See full story in the Wednesday, Oct. 16 edition of The Record.

Share this article