Richmond-Arthabaska candidate profiles

Richmond-Arthabaska candidate profiles
(Photo : Courtesy)

By Gordon Lambie

There are a total of seven candidates running for election in the Richmond-Arthabaska riding, including representatives from the Bloc Quebecois, Liberal Party, Conservative Party, New Democratic Party, Peoples Party, Free Party, and the Rhinoceros Party.
The riding is made up of the municipalities of Saint-Denis-de-Brompton, Saint-François-Xavier-de-Brompton, Melbourne, Kingsbury, Richmond, Cleveland, Ulverton, Windsor, Vol-joli, Saint-Claude, Danville, Asbestos, Saint-Georges-de-Windsor, Saint-Camille, Wotton, Kingsey Falls, Sainte-Séraphine, Sainte-Clothilde-de Horton, Saint-Samuel, Saint-Albert, Sainte-Élizabeth-de-Warwick, Warwick, Tingwick, Saint-Rémi-de-Tingwick, Saint-Adrien, Saint-Joseph-de-Ham-Sud, Saints-Martyr-Canadiens, Ham-Nord, Notre-Dame-de-Ham, Chesterville, Sainte-Hélène-de-Chester, Saint-Christophe-d’Arthabaska, Saint-Norbert-d’Arthabaska, Victoriaville, Saint-Valère, Saint-Rosaire, Sainte-Anne-du-Sault, Daveluyville, Maddington, and Saint-Louis-de-Blandford. It has had only three Members of Parliament since its creation 24 years ago; Progressive-Conservative turned independent André Bachand, who is now a part of the provincial government in the area, from 1997 to 2004. André Bellavance, now the Mayor of Victoriaville, represented the Bloc Quebecois riding from 2004 to 2014, then sat as an independent for the last year. Alain Rayes, former Mayor of Victoriaville, was elected under the Conservative banner in 2015 and was re-elected in 2019.
For full story and others, subscribe now.

Share this article